Scheduling is boggling my mind

Published January 23, 2015 by GenYMission

Alright, so it has been a few days since I last blogged.

I will try really hard for that never to turn into a few weeks or months.

However, remember I am in high school and am pretty bad at time management, but I will still try.

On to other things!

My high school does this thing with their schedule called “blocked scheduling” and what that means is we have four classes a day, each an hour and a half long. Lunch is divided into 3 parts. Each lunch is 30 minutes long, and the classes held during this time have bells ring at different times. With this type of schedule, most classes are only a semester long, with a few that are full year, and some that are only a quarter long.

My schedule as it stands consists of an Algebra 2 and trigonometry combined math course, an Anatomy and physiology 2 science course, a chemistry science course and a study hall.

I really don’t know what I was thinking when I added that extra science course into my schedule. Chemistry is required as a junior, but A&P 2 isn’t.

I was in A&P 1 last semester and loved it, however I was also in English and choir. My right brained classes were balancing me.

(Right brained class: Classes that let you think creatively, and thoughtfully, Language and fine arts classes are right brained classes. Left brained classes are classes that are more logic based, like science and math)

This semester I really don’t have any right brained classes to balance myself out. Every semester until now, I have had at least 2, and suddenly I’m stranded with no balance.

Where was I going with this?

Oh yeah, I decided I needed to  change it and that is what I have been trying to do this week. Meaning I am trying to switch Anatomy for Spanish.

Not only because of the whole right brain balance thing, but also because the other few students in there move at a much faster pace than I do, and if I don’t understand something, I’m probably the only one who doesn’t understand it. There are many other reasons I have decided to make this change as well.

To be honest, this is a really stressful process. I mean I had to explain to the principal why I wanted to do this, and I am not good with words in front of people.

Also, changing things is really stressful anyways am I right? We are creatures of habit.

Anyways, the principal sent me off, telling me not to make a decision until Monday.

I think I already have.

But I struggle with the thought, “How do I know what God wants me to do?” Because I know he has a plan for my life, and I don’t want to mess that up. I want to make the right choice.

I’ll keep you posted about how this turns out, and if I find an answer to the above question, I will let you know.

Until then, or at least until I think of something else to blog about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

